Preview : Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab

IPL 2017 finally hits Kolkata as Gautam Gambhir’s men are looking to bounce back whilst Glenn Maxwell’s men are looking for their third victory. KXIP surprised everyone by winning their first two games comfortably,  their bowling and fielding were immense especially with all the talk of Indore being a small ground. However KKR has been hot and cold, winning Gujarat Lions convincingly in their opening game but their lacklustre bowling and catching cost them against Mumbai.

Their first home fixture for the season and KKR will be without Chris Lynn who stole the show in their opening game, he’s sidelined with a troublesome shoulder. However KKR are strengthened with the arrival of Shakib al Hasan and Umesh Yadav who have joined the team ahead of this game.


History : KKR have had the upper hand over KXIP over the seasons, winning 13 of the 19 games against them, including the last seven encounters. Their record is even better in Eden Gardens, with KKR winning six out of eight.


Pitch: The pitch has a tinge of green and it is more likely to be suited for the pacers. The run scoring will be easy as well with ball coming nicely on to the bat and dew around.


First inning score : Teams who bat first at Kolkata usually scores more than 150 runs on the board. 180 runs seems to be the par total.157 was average in IPL 2016.

Watch out for

Gambhir and Maxwell both have started off very well with the bat and we are expecting more fireworks from these two tonight. The last time these teams met Maxwell blasted 68 and Gambir and Uthappa both scored half centuries and with Lynn out they will look to this opening partnership again.



Predicted XI’s 

Kolkata Knight Riders : 1 Gautam Gambhir (capt), 2 Robin Uthappa (wk), 3 Manish Pandey, 4 Shakib Al Hasan, 5 Yusuf Pathan, 6 Suryakumar Yadav, 7 Chris Woakes, 8 Sunil Narine, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Umesh Yadav, 11 Trent Boult.

Kings XI Punjab : 1 Hashim Amla, 2 Manan Vohra, 3 Wriddhiman Saha (wk), 4 Glenn Maxwell (capt), 5 David Miller, 6 Marcus Stoinis, 7 Axar Patel, 8 Mohit Sharma, 9 Sandeep Sharma, 10 Varun Aaron, 11 T Natarajan.


Leave a Reply